Meet the Artists: Audience Engagement Series

The Cowles Center for Dance & The Performing Arts is excited to bring you our Meet the Artists: Audience Engagement Series. These discussions are the ideal opportunity to deepen your live performance experience by engaging with the artists, learning about their process and asking your questions. Meet the Artists: Audience Engagement Series discussions will take place in The Goodale Theater (unless otherwise noted) immediately following the performance and will last between 20 and 45 minutes.

The discussions will be facilitated either by one of the artists, the Artistic Director or an expert from the community and will begin with introductions to the artists and collaborators. The facilitator will then open the conversation with a leading question that gets to the heart of the research and material, reveals something about the artistic process, and serves as a jumping off point for an open dialogue with the audience. 

Meet the Artists: Audience Engagement Series 2016/17 Schedule 

Twin Cities Tap Festival
Friday October 21

Facilitator: Kaleena Miller (Co-Director, Twin Cities Tap Festival)
Leading Questions: 

  • Improvisation is integral part of tap dance.  How do you approach it?
  • Where is tap dance today and where do you think or hop it will go?

Zenon Dance Company
Saturday November 19

Contempo Physical Dance
Friday February 24

St. Paul Ballet
Friday March 3

Twin Cities Ballet
Friday March 10

Minnesota Dance Theatre
Friday April 7

Shapiro & Smith

Flying Foot Forum & Zorongo Flamceno Dance
Saturday April 22

Zenon Dance Company
Saturday May 6

Saturday May 20

Momentum: New Dance Works Festival
Friday July 13 & 21

Previous 2016/17 Meet the Artist Discussions

Katha Dance Theatre
Sunday September 18

Facilitator: Derek Phillips (Company Member)
Leading Question:  Why Sufiana and why now?

Solo: McKnight Dance Fellows
Saturday September 24

Facilitator: Mary Ellen Childs (Program Director, McKnight Fellowships for Dancers and Choreographers)
Leading Question: SOLO is an evening of six new dances. How does the solo form differ from group work? And how did these 6 solos contrast and compliment one another?