Momentum: New Dance Works

Momentum was launched in 2001 as a partnership between The Walker Art Center, the Southern Theater, and the now defunct Dance Today (formerly Minnesota Dance Alliance) to commission and present new works from promising and innovative Minnesota dance-makers. The Jerome Foundation has generously supported this series from its inception. With the Foundation’s support, the series has become one of the most important programs for emerging dance artists in Minnesota.

Since 2001, Momentum has enabled the creation and presentation of new work by artistically and culturally diverse emerging artists that have continued to make significant contributions to the local and national arts scene, including Mathew Janczewski (2001), Emily Johnson (2002), Aparna Ramaswamy (2004), Jason Noer (2004), Morgan Thorson (2005), BodyCartography Project (2006), Karen Sherman (2006), Chris Schlichting (2008), Maia Maiden/Ellena Schoop (2008), and SuperGroup (2013), among others. The original impetus for creating Momentum continues to drive the series today. The Twin Cities remain a home for a generation of emerging dance and dance-theater creators. These artists have honed their choreographic skills and made Minnesota a national hub for contemporary dance.

Momentum: New Dance Works Festival

July 9 – 18, 2015

Southern Theater
1420 South Washington Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55454

Each artist will perform a new half-evening length work (30-40 minutes) over three nights. The series is presented by the Cowles Center for Dance and the Performing Arts, in partnership with the Walker Art Center and the Southern Theater with support from the Jerome Foundation.

July, 9 – 11, 2015 (Meet the Artists: July 10)
State of the Moon Address choreographed by Hiponymous
Broken choreographed by Luke Olson-Elm

July, 16 – 18, 2015 (Meet the Artists: July 17)
A new dance quartet choreographed by Angharad Davies
An all-male quintet choreographed by Nic Lincoln

Tickets go on sale Monday, July 21, 2014 for $20 general admission.

Support for this program provided by